Skip to content

Caste certificate issuing authority

Today, a person can quickly obtain their caste certificate online from a high authority. To learn everything there is to know about caste certificates, keep reading.

For those who fall under one of India’s reserved groups, such as Schedule Caste (SC), Schedule Tribe (ST), or Other Backward Class (OBC), the caste certificate is of utmost significance. When necessary, this document is used to support the caste proof. It is typically employed to take advantage of policies and promotions from India’s state or federal governments. Caste certificates give applicants access to advantages for employment, government subsidies, scholarships, and benefits for competitive exams and their cutoffs. To find out who issues caste certificates, read on.

Meaning of Caste Certificate

Caste certificates serve as official documentation of a person’s caste affiliation. It is a crucial document that facilitates access to numerous government programmes.

When necessary, this document demonstrates the originating caste of the person belonging to the reserved category. The Indian government initiated this as a component of the “Indian System of Protective Discrimination” to support the backwards category by granting it some particular rights.

The Indian government saw the necessity to encourage scheduled castes, tribes, and other underprivileged classes to join the general populace in walking together. As a result, they set aside some seats in the legislature and other government positions for members of these castes. Additionally, they offer relaxation in some or all of the costs for high school or college admissions, quotas in educational institutions, and age restrictions for applying for various employment, among other things.

The candidate must possess a current caste certificate in order to receive these benefits.

What factors are considered while issuing the caste certificate?

Before issuing the caste certificate, the applicants need to consider the following things:-

1.Identity proof

  • PAN Card
  • Aadhaar Card
  • Passport
  • MGNREGA Card
  • RSBY card
  • Driving License
  • Identity card issued by government or semi-government organizations

2. Address proof

  • PAN card
  • Aadhaar card
  • Voter ID card
  • Ration Card
  • Driving license
  • Electricity bill
  • Water bill
  • Property tax receipt
  • Telephone bill
  • Rent receipt
  •  Passport

3. Affidavit for Caste certificate

4. Caste proof

  •  The extract of primary school register of applicant’s, applicant’s father or grandfather
  • Applicant’s, father’s, and grandfather’s primary school leaving certificate
  • Extract of birth register of the applicant, applicant’s father or grandfather.
  • Extracts from government service record (book) that includes caste, community, category of the applicant or applicant’s father or grandfather.
  • Records of revenue and village panchayat
  • Caste certificate issued by the Department of Social justice
  • Other relevant records

How to Know Caste Certificate Issuing Authority?

The state government of the particular person issues the caste certificate. A proper process for issuing the certifications has been provided by each state government or by the UT administration. There is a specific system for this process in place for each state government and Union territory. In India, certificates are issued in two languages: the state tongue and English. The following organisations are authorised by the federal government to issue caste certificates in the prescribed format.

  • District Magistrate, Additional District Magistrate, Collector, Deputy Commissioner, Additional Deputy Commissioner, Deputy Collector, 1st Class Stipendiary Magistrate, Taluka Magistrate, Sub Divisional Magistrate, Executive Magistrate, Extra Assistant Commissioner.
  • Presidency Magistrate, Chief Presidency Magistrate, and Additional Chief Presidency Magistrate.
  • Officer of Revenue. He or she should not have a position lower than Tehsildar.
  • the subdistrict officer of the municipality where the candidate and his or her household reside.

State vise following authorities the caste certificate

Andhra Pradesh – Revenue Department, Government of Andhra Pradesh

Arunachal Pradesh – Deputy Commissioner’s Office of each district

Assam – Office of Deputy Commissioner or SDO of each district

Bihar – Circle office/SDO office/District Magistrate office

Chattisgarh – SDM/Tehsildar/Revenue Department Offices

Goa – Revenue Department, Government of Goa

Gujarat – Tehsil/Revenue Office

Haryana – SDM of the concerned Subdivision or District Commissioner of the concerned district

Himachal Pradesh – Tehsildar/Naib Tehsildar of the concerned district

Jharkhand – Department of Personnel, Administrative Reforms and Rajbhasha

Karnataka – Taluk level functionary

Kerala – Revenue Inspector or Village Administrative Officer

Madhya Pradesh – Tehsil/Revenue/Circle Office

Maharashtra – Sub-Divisional Officer/ Deputy Collector

Manipur – Office of Deputy Commissioner

Meghalaya – Sub-Divisional Officer/ Deputy Collector

Mizoram – Tehsil/Revenue/Circle Office

Nagaland – Office of the Commissioner Nagaland / District Administration / District Magistrate

Odisha – District Magistrate/ADM/SDO/Tahsildar

Punjab – Concerned Sub-Divisional Office

Rajasthan – Respective Tehsil/Block/Revenue Office

Sikkim – District Administrative Center

Tamil Nadu – Taluk/Panchayat Union Office

Telangana – Tehsil/Revenue Office

Tripura – Office of the Sub-Divisional Magistrate

Uttar Pradesh – District Magistrate Office of concerned district

Uttarakhand – Respective Tehsil /Revenue/Circle Office

West Bengal – District Welfare Office/SDO/BDO

Andaman and Nicobar Island – Concerned Tehsildar Officer

Chandigarh – SDM Office

Dadra and Nagar Haveli – Mamlatdar office/Collector office

Daman and Diu – Mamlatdar office/Collector office

Delhi – SDM/Tehsildar/CSC (Citizen Service Center)

Jammu and Kashmir – Concerned Tehsildar Offices

Ladakh – Concerned Tehsildar Offices

Lakshadweep – Tehsil /Revenue/Circle Office

Puducherry – Tehsil /Revenue/Circle Office

Time period is taken by the authorities to issue caste certificates

Aandra Pradesh – 15 days and 30 days for ST category

Arunachal Pradesh – 14 days

Assam – 30 days

Bihar  – 10 working days

Chattisgarh – Not specified

Goa – 10 days

Gujarat – Not specified

Haryana – 7 working days

Himachal Pradesh – Not specified

Jharkhand – Not specified

Karnataka – 21 days

Kerala – 5 days

Madhya Pradesh – 30 days

Maharashtra – 45 days

Manipur – Not specified

Meghalaya – Not specified

Mizoram – 2 to 3 days

Nagaland – Not specified

Odisha – Not specified

Punjab – Up to 6 days

Rajasthan – Not specified

Sikkim – Not specified

Tamil Nadu – Not specified

Telangana – 15 days and 30 days for ST category

Tripura – 15 to 40 days

Uttar Pradesh – 15 to 25 days

Uttarakhand – Not specified

West Bengal  – Not specified

Andaman and Nicobar Island – Nearly 14 days

Chandigarh – 9 to 30 working days

Dadra and Nagar Haveli – 7 to 10 days

Daman and Diu – 7 to 10 days

Delhi – 14 days

Jammu and Kashmir – Not specified

Ladakh – Not specified

Lakshadweep – Not specified

Puducherry – Not specified

Conclusion :-

The scheduled caste and scheduled tribes were added to the Indian constitution order and the constitution order for scheduled tribes in 1950 through Articles 341 and 342 of the Indian Constitution.

Rate this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Open chat
Scan the code
Hello 👋
Can we help you?